Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Protein Biophysics (Prof. Daniel Otzen)

Daniel Otzen

Professor Interdisciplinary Nanoscience Center - INANO-MBG, iNANO-huset
Group members
Research funding

Research focus in brief

Our research activities fall within 3 main areas, which all relate to the study of the kinetics and thermodynamics of protein conformational changes, namely membrane protein folding, protein-detergent interactions and protein fibrillation. These areas are linked by a keen interest in understanding the mechanistic and thermodynamic behaviour of proteins in different circumstances by quantifying the strength of internal side-chain interactions as well as contacts with solvent molecules, whether it be detergents, denaturants, stabilizing salts and osmolytes or lipids. Ultimately we hope this will lead to a greater manipulative ability vis-a-vis processes of both basic, pharmaceutical and industrial relevance. The general approach is to use available spectroscopic techniques (fluorescence, CD, stopped-flow, FTIR, NMR and dynamic and static light scattering) to generate data which can be analyzed in a quantitative manner to develop models and mechanisms for conformational changes at the molecular level.  


Poul Nissen (photo: Lisbeth Heilesen/AU)

2019.04.25 | iNano

Poul Nissen receives Euro 1.34 million to study the insulin receptor

The Novo Nordisk Foundation has awarded Professor Poul Nissen a five-year grant in the form of a so-called "NNF Distinguished Investigator 2019 grant" within "Bioscience and Basic Biomedicine", which is given to researchers who have shown their ability to carry out and lead research at the very highest international level.

Dr. Edit Brodszkij receives EU funding for research in cell mimicry. Private photo.

2019.04.25 | iNano

Dr. Edit Brodszkij receives EU funding for research in cell mimicry

iNANO researcher, Dr. Edit Brodszkij, receives Marie Sklodowska-Curie Individual Fellowship to design polymeric artificial organelles in Assoc. Prof. Brigitte Stadler's research group at iNANO.

Speakers and Nanoscience alumni, Søren Porsgaard, Simon Frølich, Sabrina Rostgaard Johannsen, Karthiga Panneerselvam along with Center Director Trolle Linderoth at iNANO Alumni Day 2019. (Photo by Lise R. L. Pedersen, AU)

2019.04.12 | iNano, Alumni

iNANO Alumni Day 2019

From process optimisation to development of healthcare products, new materials and sensors: The speakers represented very well the wide-ranging versatility of nanoscience graduates when 125 participants filled the iNANO auditorium at iNANO Alumni Day 2019.

Showing results 10 to 12 of 226

Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next

Recent publications

Sort by: Date | Author | Title