Aarhus Universitets segl

Protein Biophysics (Prof. Daniel Otzen)

Daniel Erik Otzen

Professor Interdisciplinary Nanoscience Center - INANO-MBG, iNANO-huset


Group members
Research funding

Research focus in brief

Our research activities fall within 3 main areas, which all relate to the study of the kinetics and thermodynamics of protein conformational changes, namely membrane protein folding, protein-detergent interactions and protein fibrillation. These areas are linked by a keen interest in understanding the mechanistic and thermodynamic behaviour of proteins in different circumstances by quantifying the strength of internal side-chain interactions as well as contacts with solvent molecules, whether it be detergents, denaturants, stabilizing salts and osmolytes or lipids. Ultimately we hope this will lead to a greater manipulative ability vis-a-vis processes of both basic, pharmaceutical and industrial relevance. The general approach is to use available spectroscopic techniques (fluorescence, CD, stopped-flow, FTIR, NMR and dynamic and static light scattering) to generate data which can be analyzed in a quantitative manner to develop models and mechanisms for conformational changes at the molecular level.  

Read more here


iNANO Researchers awarded prestigious Sapere Aude grants

Three iNANO researchers, Espen Drath Bøjesen, Thibault Viennet, and Michael Westberg Sørensen are awarded prestigious Sapere Aude grants for groundbreaking research.

Three researchers from iNANO, Aarhus University, have been awarded the prestigious Sapere Aude grants from the Independent Research Fund Denmark. This…

Award for method with potential to making circular economy for PUR plastic possible

Professor Troels Skrydstrup and his team at iNANO and Dept. of Chemistry, Aarhus University, have received Plastprisen for the second year in a row! This year together with the RePURpose consortium for their groundbreaking work on developing a method for recycling polyurethane PUR.

Troels Skrydstrup and his team at Aarhus University have been awarded Plastprisen for the second consecutive year. This prestigious award recognizes…

Rikke Meyer and Dorthe Ravnsbæk join The Royal Academy of Sciences and Letters

Professor Rikke Louise Meyer and Professor Dorthe Ravnsbæk from iNANO become members of the Royal Academy of Sciences and Letters.

We are proud to announce that iNANO researchers Professor Rikke Meyer and Professor Dorthe Ravnsbæk, have been inducted as members of The Royal…

Recent publications

Sortér efter: Dato | Forfatter | Titel