Aarhus University Seal

Rikke Meyer and Dorthe Ravnsbæk join The Royal Academy of Sciences and Letters

We are proud to announce that iNANO researchers Professor Rikke Meyer and Professor Dorthe Ravnsbæk, have been inducted as members of The Royal Academy of Sciences and Letters. This prestigious recognition highlights their outstanding contributions to their research field and their dedication to advancing scientific research and education.

We are thrilled to share that Professor Rikke Meyer and Professor Dorthe Ravnsbæk from the Interdisciplinary Nanoscience Center (iNANO) at Aarhus University, have been honored with membership in The Royal Academy of Sciences and Letters. This prestigious accolade is a testament to their exceptional achievements and significant contributions within their field research.

Rikke Meyer known for her pioneering work in microbial biofilms, has made remarkable strides in understanding how bacteria form biofilms and resist antibiotics. Her innovative research is paving the way for new strategies to combat antibiotic-resistant infections, a major global health challenge. Meyer's work not only advances fundamental scientific knowledge but also has profound implications for medical and environmental applications.

Dorthe Ravnsbæk has gained recognition for her groundbreaking research in materials chemistry, specifically focusing on the development of new materials for energy storage. Her work on innovative battery technologies holds the promise of revolutionizing energy storage solutions, crucial for the transition to sustainable energy systems. Ravnsbæk's research is instrumental in addressing the pressing need for efficient and sustainable energy storage, a cornerstone of future green technologies.

Both Meyer and Ravnsbæk have demonstrated exceptional leadership and dedication in their respective fields, mentoring the next generation of scientists and fostering collaborative research initiatives. Their induction into The Royal Academy of Sciences and Letters not only acknowledges their scientific excellence but also underscores the importance of their contributions to advancing knowledge and innovation.

At iNANO, we are immensely proud of their achievements and the recognition they have received. Their membership in The Royal Academy of Sciences and Letters is a significant honor that highlights the high caliber of research conducted at our center. It also reflects the broader impact of their work on both national and international scientific communities.

The Royal Academy of Sciences and Letters, established in 1742, is one of the most esteemed scientific academies, promoting outstanding scientific research and fostering interdisciplinary collaboration. Membership is a mark of distinction, awarded to researchers who have made substantial contributions to their fields and have demonstrated a commitment to advancing scientific understanding.

We congratulate Rikke Meyer and Dorthe Ravnsbæk on this remarkable achievement and look forward to their continued contributions to the field of nanoscience.

See the list of all new members in the press release by the Danish Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters.


Professor Rikke Louise Meyer
Interdisciplinary Nanoscience Center (iNANO) & Department og Biology
Aarhus University
Mail: rikke.meyer@inano.au.dk

Professor Dorthe Bomholdt Ravnsbæk
Department of Chemistry & Interdisciplinary Nanoscience Center (iNANO)
Aarhus University
Mail: dorthe@chem.au.dk