Aarhus University Seal

Executive committee

The executive committee is appointed by the steering committee, and is composed of bone researchers Henrik Birkedal, and Jesper Skovhus Thomsen. The executive committee is responsible for ranking of user requests for AXIA instrument access as well as guidance of potential users.

Henrik Birkedal

Henrik Birkedal is professor and leader of the research group Biological and Bioinspired Materials at iNANO and Dept. of Chemistry at Aarhus University. He is a materials chemist working on understanding fundamentals of bone structure in health and disease as well as on bioinspired materials design. He is further an expert on X-ray imaging, also at synchrotrons. 

Jesper Skovhus Thomsen

Jesper Skovhus Thomsen is associate professor in Dept. of Biomedicine at Aarhus University. From a starting point in engineering, he has established himself as the leading Danish expert on bone mechanics and laboratory micro computed tomography.