Aarhus University Seal

Neutrons for Multi-Functional Hydrides - FunHy

Project Description

The discovery of useful new materials strongly depends on a detailed understanding of material structure and property relationships. The ambition of this project is to conduct cutting-edge international research on the design and preparation of novel functional hydride materials and to exploit neutron scattering methods for conclusive characterization of structural and dynamic properties. Hydrides form large varieties of different types of materials and we target: i) light element hydrides relevant for hydrogen storage and ii) metal hydrides which are new fast ion conductors for batteries and iii) hydrides with novel magnetic properties. We aim at integrating a range of neutron scattering techniques for advanced materials characterization: i) Elastic neutron scattering, including in situ powder neutron diffraction (PND) at varying temperature and pressures, high resolution PND, ii) total neutron scattering and PDF analysis for probing structural properties, iii) inelastic neutron scattering (INS) and quasielastic neutron scattering (QENS) for probing dynamic properties. Neutron scattering combined with other techniques will then provide new fundamental scientific insights into material structure-property relationships. Our goal is to develop novel useful functional hydride materials based on new understanding of structure-property correlations through rational materials design. This project is conducted within a strong Nordic and international research network and offers the highest level of energy materials science education for 3 PhDs directly funded, and a large number of Bachelor, Master and associated PhD students. An open Nordic research meeting will be organised with the aim to gather Nordic experts, start new collaborations and share our knowledge. This project will establish new broad long-lasting research networks and collaboration within ‘neutrons for materials science’.


FunHy is a Scandinavian collaboration between the research groups of:  

- Prof. Torben R. Jensen, Aarhus University, Denmark

- Prof. Bjørn Hauback and Dr. Magnus Sørby, Institute for Energy Technology, Norway

- Assoc. Prof. Martin Sahlberg, Uppsala University, Sweden

- Prof. Ulrich Häussermann, Stockholm University, Sweden